Election Day 2019: Spofford defeats Linson in County Judge RaceFree Access

Fleming victorious in Kent
Two Newcomers Elected to Carmel Town Board; Eckardt Trails in Southeast

It was east versus west in the Putnam County Judge race on Election Day following the untimely death last summer of Putnam County Judge James Reitz and the eastern half of the county was the victor.

Putnam County Judge-elect Joseph Spofford is congratulated by his fiancée Agnieszka Maslosz on his victory at a celebration in Mahopac on Election night. Photo / Eric Gross

Philipstown Town Justice Camille Linson gave it a fight but her Republican challenger Carmel Town Judge Joseph Spofford was the victor on Election night 10,649 to 7,838.

Speaking before some 200 supporters who gathered at the Villa Barone in Mahopac Tuesday night, County Court Judge-elect Spofford promised to “follow in the traditions of my dear friend Jim Reitz. Jim taught me to have respect for everyone entering my courtroom by treating them fairly. It is an honor to follow him on the bench. I look forward to serving all the residents of our great county.”

In a more subdued setting, a half-mile away at the Four Brothers Restaurant, Linson was greeted by her supporters with hugs and handshakes. 

She thanked those for supporting her candidacy: “I’m very grateful to the many people across party lines who worked so hard to share my campaign’s message of Justice for All. I hope that my campaign contributed to awareness of the devastating impact of the opioid crisis on Putnam County families and the need for us all to work together, regardless of party politics, to stop this epidemic. I will continue to dedicate myself to this work and to serve our community in every way I can.”

Putnam District Attorney Robert Tendy ran unopposed this year garnering 13,668 votes.

Putnam Legislators Paul Jonke and Neal Sullivan both ran unopposed while Legislator Carl Albano defeated Rebecca Swan by a tally of 1,222 to 730.

In the Town of Carmel, Supervisor Kenneth Schmitt, Town Clerk Ann Spofford, Town Justice Thomas Jacobellis, Receiver of Taxes Kathleen Kraus and Highway Superintendent Michael Simone all ran unopposed. Three candidates sought two seats on the Carmel Town Board including Jean Hopper, Frank Lombardi and Robert Schanil Jr.

Schanil, a resident of the Hamlet of Carmel, was the top vote getter with 3,746 votes while Lombardi was also victorious tallying 3,654. Hopper came in third with 2,199 ballots. 

Schanil becomes the first member of the Carmel Town Board from the hamlet to serve in more than 20 years.

In Kent, Supervisor Maureen Fleming was reelected defeating Richard Kreps by a vote of 1,671 to 1,057. Town Board members Jaime McGlasson and Christopher Ruthven were both reelected as well defeating Anne Campbell and Nina Gerosa. Ruthven tallied 1,529; McGlasson–1,498; Campbell–1,189 and Gerosa-1,097.

Residents of Kent also approved a referendum to increase the town’s contribution to the Kent Library budget by $566,686. The tally: 1,856 to 850.

Patterson residents had an easy time at the polls this year since Supervisor Richard Williams, Town Board members Charles Cook and Shawn Rogan, Town Clerk candidate Eileen Fitzpatrick and Highway Supt. Russell Goff were all running unopposed.

In Southeast, Supervisor Tony Hay and Town Clerk Michele Stancati ran unopposed. Four candidates sought two town board seats including incumbents Edwin Alvarez and Lynne Eckardt along with newcomers Zach Disador and John O’Connor.

Alvarez and O’Connor appeared to have won the races yet Eckardt trails O’Connor by some 64 votes with absentee and provisional ballots to be counted Nov. 20.

The tally in the tight races: Alvarez–1,716; O’Connor–1,694; Eckardt-1,630 and Disador–1.244.

Two candidates also ran for the soon-to-be vacant Highway Superintendent’s post–Michael Burdick and Robert Pigan. Burdick crushed his opponent, 2,040 to 343.

In the Village of Brewster, Mayor James Schoenig and village trustees George Gaspar and Christine Piccini were all running unopposed.

In Philipstown, Supervisor Richard Shea, Town Justice Stephen Tomann and Highway Superintendent Carl Frisenda all ran unopposed.

Judith Farrell and Robert Flaherty were reelected to the Philipstown Town Board with votes of 1,786 and 2,329 respectively. Corey Lyons, the third person in the race tallied 1,117.

Town Clerk Tina Merando was defeated in her bid to win re-election by Tara Percacciolo. The town clerk-elect received 1,532 votes to Merando’s 1,370.

Putnam Valley voters reelected Sam Oliverio and Town Clerk Sherry Howard who were running unopposed.

Incumbent Town Councilman Louie Luongo was victorious while his fellow Councilman Steven Mackay was defeated by Ralph Smith.

Smith tallied 1,344 votes; Luongo received 1,493 and Mackay tallied 944.

Two others in the race, Anthony Williams and Patricia Villanova received 1,097 and 379 votes respectively.

Former Putnam County Legislature Attorney Clement Van Ross was the winner in the town justice race defeating Terry Raskyn 1,183 to 1,042 while Highway Superintendent Lawrence Cobb was reelected defeating Shawn Keeler 1,471 to 1,004.

Residents of Putnam Valley were also asked to increase the town’s contribution to the Putnam Valley Library budget to $398,000. The referendum was defeated 1,316 to 1,475.

In the Village of Cold Spring Mayor David Merandy was reelected defeating his challenger Charles Hustis by a tally of 421-286 while Village Trustees Marie Early and Frances Murphy were reelected defeating newcomer Margaret Parr. Early tallied 434 votes; Murphy received 510 votes and Parr came in a distant third with 247 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *