Philipstown The Lone Exception As Putnam Remains RedFree Access

By Eric Gross

Putnam County remains a GOP stronghold despite Democratic registered voters continuing to increase in number.

On Election Day, Republicans swept the Sheriff’s race in addition to town races in Carmel, Kent, Patterson, Putnam Valley and Southeast.

Only on the western side of the county were Democrats victorious.

The race that generated the most interest in Putnam this year centered on the position of sheriff. Sheriff Robert Langley, who upset former Sheriff Don Smith four years ago but lost his reelection bid to Kevin McConville, retired Chief of the MTA Police. The tally was 12,222 to 9,074.

Three Putnam legislators faced opposition in their re-election bids and each was victorious.

Philipstown Legislator Nancy Montgomery (District No.1), the lone Democrat on the nine member governing body defeated former Legislator Barbara Scuccimarra by a tally of 2,438 to 1,534.

In District No.4 which encompasses greater Patterson, Legislator Ginny Nacerino bested Democrat Stacy Dumont by a vote of 1,256 to 752.

Legislator Joseph Castellano (Dist. No.7) who represents constituents in sections of Southeast and a small section of Carmel was opposed by Scott Reing of Mahopac. Castellano received 1,131 votes to Reing’s 682.

In Putnam’s largest municipality, the town of Carmel, Michael Cazzari was the lone name on the ballot for supervisor after defeating Supervisor Kenneth Schmitt in a GOP primary earlier this year.

Four candidates sought two Carmel Town Board seats. Democrats James Carmody and April Daly were defeated by Republicans Stephen Baranowski and incumbent Councilwoman Suzanne McDonough. The tally: McDonough—4,115; Baranowski—3,973; Daly—1,894 and Carmody—1,711.

Republicans now control the Kent Town Board following Tuesday’s elections.

Jaime McGlasson, a current councilwoman, was elected supervisor defeating Democrat Kathy Kahng. The tally was: 1,505 to 1,329.

Yolanda Cappelli was reelected as town clerk, Stephanie Nix for Kent Receiver of Taxes and Richard Othmer for Highway Superintendent. All three Republicans were running unopposed.

Three men sought two town justice positions in Kent including incumbents Timothy Curtiss and Kevin Douchkoff along with newcomer Andrew Wells. Douchkoff was the top vote getter with 2,096 votes followed by Curtiss’ 1,966 and Wells tally of 1,196.

Five people sought two Town Board seats in Kent.

The Democrats backed Anne Campbell and Simon Carey while Jorma Tompuri and Noelle Botte ran on the GOP ticket. Incumbent Conservative Councilman William Huestis also sought reelection.

Tompuri was the top vote getter with 1,665 votes followed by Campbell’s 1,226. Botte received 1,135 and Carey tallied 1,128. Councilman Huestis was rejected in his reelection bid garnering 837 votes.

For the first time in years, the town of Patterson had no contested races on Election Day.

Town Justice Michael Caruso and Town Justice Robert Leader sought reelection unopposed as were Council members Peter Dandreano and Mary Smith and Receiver of Taxes Mary Delanoy.

In Philipstown, John VanTassel ran unopposed on the Democratic and Team Philipstown lines to succeed Richard Shea as Supervisor while four candidates sought two seats on the Philipstown Town Board including Democrats Jason Angell and Megan Cotter and Republican backed candidates Neal Tomann and Sarina Tamagna.

Angell received 2,226 votes while Cotter tallied 2,186 followed by Tomann’s 1,326 and Tamagna’s 926.

Except for the Highway Superintendent’s position which remains too close to call, Republicans swept Putnam Valley on Election Day.

Current Councilwoman Jacqueline Annabi defeated her fellow councilman

Ralph Smith for the supervisor’s post by a tally of 1,719 to 1,207.

Four candidates sought two town board seats in Putnam Valley.

Councilwoman Wendy Whetsel was turned from office when receiving 1,226 votes while Republicans Stacey Tompkins and Christian Russo were the victors. Tompkins tallied 1,660 and Russo received 1,374 while Democrat Terry Raskyn finished with 1,059.

Two men ran for Putnam Valley Highway Superintendent: Democrat Shawn Keeler against Republican Mark Pawera. When the polls closed Keeler had a single vote lead over Pawera—1,460 to 1,459. Absentee ballots will be counted November 9 to decide the winner.

In Southeast, five candidates ran for two town board seats.

Republicans Eric Cyprus (1,884) and Eric Larca (1,602) were the victors besting Democrats Zach Disador (1,091) and Gail Levine (1,013).

Carla Lucchino came in distant fifth with 142 votes.

Residents in the villages of Brewster and Cold Spring also went to the polls Tuesday.

In Brewster, Mayor James Schoenig, Village Justice Andrew Negro and Village Trustees Christine Piccino and George Gaspar faced no opposition.

In Cold Spring, the opposite held true.

Kathleen Foley defeated Vincent Tamagna for mayor by a tally of 584 to 294.

Three candidates sought two village board seats: Winners were Eliza Starbuck with 586 votes and Cathryn Fadde who tallied 353 ballots. Jeffrey Philips came in third with 300 votes.

Tweeps Woods was victorious seeking a village trustee unexpired term when defeating Yaslyn Daniels. Woods received 549 votes to Daniels 284.

Cold Spring Village Justice Thomas Costello ran unopposed and was reelected.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *